Events

DSTN > Events > Thematic Workshops: Digital Science for Health

Overview:
The DSTN Thematic Workshop is a series of half-day meeting gathering the members of our network and invited external partners to discuss around a scientific topic (Big Data and, Trusted Artificial Intelligence, IoT and SDN in poorly connected areas, Cybersecurity, High-Performance Computing, and Data Science) or an application domain (e-Health, e-Agriculture, e-Education, e-Environment, Smart City). It allows identifying strengths and complementarity of the partners on each topic, promoting networking and collaboration to apply for the DSTN call for Research-Team and other calls for funding, identifying lecture and training needs and opportunities for the ACEs.

About the Digital Science for Health Thematic Workshop:
This workshop is focused on highlighting our network scientific results, innovation and ongoing projects on the Health domain. Our special guest is the West African Network for Infectious Diseases ACE (WANIDA).

DSTN > Events > Thematic Workshops: Digital Science for Health

Program

Session chair : Dr. Gaoussou Camara, DSTN Coordinator, gaoussou.camara@uadb.edu.sn

09.00 – 09.05
Opening DSTN Leader

09.05 – 09.20
Presentation of the Digital Science and Technologie Network (DSTN) 
Prof. Maissa Mbaye, maissa.mbaye@ugb.edu.sn 
DSTN Leader

09.20 – 09.35
Presentation of the West African Network for Infectious Diseases ACE (WANIDA)
Ms Olivia R Koupaki, orkoupaki@ug.edu.gh
WANIDA Coordinator

09.35 – 09.55

Title: Development of Cloud and Mobile Health Apps for the Federated Genomic (FEDGEN) Platform

Speaker: Dr. Joke Badejo, CApIC ACE, joke.badejo@covenantuniversity.edu.ng 

Abstract: Sub-saharan Africa has hitherto been burdened with multiple health issues, such as perennial malaria and the emerging epidemic of breast cancer for women, and prostate cancer for men. These health issues are not properly tackled due to the paucity of applications that are built using indigenous genomics (and other “omics”) datasets that underlie these diseases. One of the specific aims of CApIC-ACE in the ACE Impact project is the development of Federated Genomics (FEDGEN) cloud computing infrastructure (i.e. datacenter) to bring home genomic based research and development to the African populace. Hinged on the unique partnership between CApIC-ACE and CEA-MITIC (with their academic and industry partners), this development project aims to design, develop and deploy cloud and mobile apps with integrated edge AI-based services for disseminating health information related to malaria, breast and prostate cancer on the FEDGEN platform. These apps will also contain a module for curating, archiving and accessing of datasets for research and education. Consequently, this project will culminate in apps deployment and commercialisation; and capacity building via internships, joint students’ supervision and postgraduate degrees.

Bio: Dr. Joke Badejo received the B.Tech. degree from Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Nigeria, in 2003, the M.Eng. and Ph.D. degree from Covenant University, Nigeria in 2007 and 2015 respectively; all in Computer Engineering. She is currently an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Information Engineering at Covenant University, Nigeria. During her Ph.D., she received the International Association for Pattern Recognition and MORPHO grant in 2012 for Biometrics training and was also a Visiting Student at Biomedical Signal Analysis Laboratory in Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY, USA in 2015. Her research interests include Biometrics & Biomedical Image Analysis, Machine Learning, Data Analytics, Software Engineering. She currently leads the Data Analytics team which supports data-driven decision making in Covenant University. She is a member of a number of professional bodies such as the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Joke enjoys being an academic and loves contributing impactful and cost-effective solutions to prevailing societal engineering problems in Africa.


09.55 – 10.15

Title: Genetic and Environmental COntributions to Malaria prevalence in SEnegal and Côte d’Ivoire

Speaker: Dr. Seydou Nourou Sylla, ACE MITIC, nourou03@gmail.com 

Abstract: This project participates in the implementation of methods and tools for statistical analysis of environmental, climatic and genetic data and their associations with epidemiological and parasitological data, while guaranteeing the validity and reliability of the results, in a context of non-independent repetitions of observations for the same subject. Indeed, in the African population, there are fairly strong kinship ties and the longitudinal monitoring carried out for several years in the study areas has made it possible to acquire repeated and correlated observations that must be taken into account. In addition to these problems, this project will take into account the environmental and climatic specificity of African countries in the diagnosis of infectious diseases which is an important aspect in current research.

Bio: Dr. Seydou Nourou Sylla holds a PhD in applied mathematics, specialized in machine learning and big data, at the University Gaston Berger of Saint-Louis in Senegal. He is an external consultant within the West African Health Organization. Dr. Sylla was a postdoctoral fellow at the Pasteur Institute of Dakar, within the G4-BBM group. Within this group, he worked on Machine Learning and Big Data on genetic, epidemiological and environmental data. Dr. Sylla worked in the Modelling and Inference of Complex and Structured Random Phenomena (MISTIS) project team at the Institut Nationale de Recherche en Informatique et Automates (INRIA) of Grenoble in France. He was also a statistician-modeler at the Research Unit on Emerging Infectious and Tropical Diseases (URMITE) of the Research Institute for Development (IRD) of Dakar in Senegal.


10.15 – 10.35

Title: Predicting Heart Disease with Multiple Classifiers

Speaker: Mr Charly Gnoguem, ACE SMIA, charly.gnoguem@imsp-uac.org 

Abstract: Heart disease is one of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in the world. About 18 million people die of heart disease every year. Given that data is generated daily by several sources and in various formats, its timely, accurate, and cost-efficient prediction is imperative for clinical reforms. Machine Learning is reputable for its effectiveness in the prediction of heart disease by use of medical data. The complex correlations present in medical datasets increases the complexity of predicting heart disease. In this paper, a novel hybrid technique is proposed to improve the prediction of heart disease. The focus of this method is on the reduction of false negatives for the betterment of patient care. The proposed method assigns weights to four classifiers, each built with one of the four reputable algorithms – Decision Tree, Random Forest, K-Nearest Neighbor, and Logistic Regression. The final class of a new instance is predicted by the maximum weighted sum of predictions from the classifiers. This method is compared with already existing methods, and an improvement in accuracy (92.10%) and sensitivity (94.59%) and a drastic reduction in false negatives are observed with the Cleveland dataset.

Bio: Charly N. Gnoguem is a senior student at the University of Abomey-Calavi and currently taking up a doctorate in Artificial Intelligence. As an artificial intelligence student, he has trained to perform highly in connected fields like machine learning, deep learning, big data analysis and management, business intelligence, and multi-agent systems. He studied computer engineering at the undergraduate level after which he has been working with several companies as a software consultant. In 2018, he took up an MSc in Information Systems at the institute of mathematics and physics (IMSP-UAC).



10.35 – 10.55

Title: COVID-19 – A GLOBAL pandemic requiring LOCAL solutions

Speaker: Dr. Yaw Bediako, ACE WACCBIP, ybediako@ug.edu.gh 

Abstract: Since December 2019 SARS-CoV-2 has infected over 8.2 million and killed over 442,000 people in over 160 countries around the world. After a relatively slow start, the number of cases in Ghana (and indeed much of Africa) have begun to increase rapidly with 30% of total cases and deaths so far reported. Socio-economic realities have made blanket lockdown (shelter-in-place) policies difficult to enforce. Community spread is occurring and will likely continue. Despite some efforts by the government, the general public remains poorly informed about COVID-19 and adherence to public health protocols has been mixed. Large segments of population are also mistrustful of government as there is a perceived lack of transparency in how data has been handled. Our research aims to provide a real-time, intuitive, publicly accessible data platform that provides insights into the transmission dynamics and patterns of the SARSCOV-2 epidemic in Ghana, which can be used both to direct national public health strategy, but also community-based engagement and responses.

Bio: Dr. Yaw Bediako is an immunologist with broad interest in investigating immune function among African populations to better address immunopathology associated with infectious and non-infectious diseases among these populations. Following the completion of a PhD at Northwestern University in Chicago, Dr. Bediako completed post-doctoral fellowships at the KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Programme in Kenya and at the Francis Crick Institute in London, which were focused on understanding the immunological mechanisms by which immunity to Malaria is naturally acquired and maintained. As a Research Fellow at the West African Centre for Cell Biology of Infectious Pathogens (WACCBIP) in Accra, Ghana, Dr. Bediako’s research group is currently working on projects that include: Exploring the mechanisms underlying the acquisition of naturally acquired immunity to malaria; Identifying immune predictors of HPV-associated cervical cancer progression in the context of HIV infection; Investigating the mechanisms of cellular and humoral immunity to SARS-CoV-2 infection among African populations. He is currently a Crick African Network fellow, a member of the eLife Early Career Advisory Group, an Affiliate member of the African Academy of Sciences, and Lead for the African Science Initiative, an online networking platform for young African scientists.



10.55 – 11.15

Title: The WHO regional COVID-19 operational platform for West and Central Africa (WCA)

Speaker: Dr. Mamadou Diallo, ACE-partner, mamadou.diallo1@ird.fr 

Abstract: The WHO regional COVID-19 operational platform for West and Central Africa (WCA) supports, coordinates and catalyzes the response to the epidemic. Its working groups include the Operational Research Group, coordinated by IRD and WHO. It aims to improve the response to the covid-19 pandemic in the WCA region by integrating operational research through the engagement of research operators, information exchange on ongoing and future research, and knowledge transfer. During my presentation I will talk about the context of the creation of the operational research group, its objectives, its achievements and the importance of its collaboration with African Centers of Excellence.

Bio: Dr. Mamadou Diallo is the Scientific Coordinator of the Operational Research Group, WHO COVID Platform for West and Central Africa. He is a member of the ACE-partner project and affiliated at the French Research and Development Institute (IRD) in Dakar. His work has focused on the immunology and epidemiology of infectious diseases including malaria, HIV, sexually transmitted infections, and covid-19. Among other projects carried out, Dr Diallo has contributed to the creation of the WHO COVID Platform for West and Central Africa https://www.ird.fr/covid-oms-aoc, the use of early HIV treatment as a method of prevention among sex workers in Benin, West Africa.



11.15 – 11.55
Discussions and Networking
All (40min)

11.55 – 12.00
Closing
DSTN Leader (5min)

18 décembre 2020, 9:00-12:00 UTC (3h)

ONLINE

By continuing your navigation on this site, you accept the use of cookies to allow us to offer you the best service.

Événements

DSTN > Événements > Les sciences du numérique au service de la santé

Vue d’ensemble :
Le workshop thématique du DSTN est une série de réunions d’une demi-journée réunissant les membres de notre réseau et des partenaires externes invités pour discuter autour d’un sujet scientifique (Big Data et, Intelligence artificielle de confiance, IoT et SDN dans les zones faiblement connectées, Cybersécurité, Calcul haute performance, et Science des données) ou d’un domaine d’application (e-Santé, e-Agriculture, e-Education, e-Environnement, Smart City). Il permet d’identifier les forces et la complémentarité des partenaires sur chaque sujet, de promouvoir la mise en réseau et la collaboration pour postuler à l’appel à équipe de recherche du DSTN et à d’autres appels à financement, d’identifier les besoins et les opportunités de conférences et de formation pour les ACE.

À propos du workshop thématique « Les sciences du numérique au service de la santé » :
Ce workshop vise à mettre en lumière les résultats scientifiques, les innovations et les projets en cours de notre réseau dans le domaine de la santé. Notre invité spécial est le Réseau Ouest Africain pour les Maladies Infectieuses ACE (WANIDA).

DSTN > Événements > Les sciences du numérique au service de la santé

Programme

Session chair : Dr. Gaoussou Camara, DSTN Coordinator, gaoussou.camara@uadb.edu.sn

09.00 – 09.05
Opening DSTN Leader

09.05 – 09.20
Présentation du Réseau de Sciences et Technologies Numériques (DSTN)
Prof. Maissa Mbaye, maissa.mbaye@ugb.edu.sn
DSTN Leader

09.20 – 09.35
Presentation of the West African Network for Infectious Diseases ACE (WANIDA)
Ms Olivia R Koupaki, orkoupaki@ug.edu.gh
WANIDA Coordinator

09.35 – 09.55
Titre :
Développement d’applications de santé mobiles et en nuage pour la plate-forme génomique fédérée (FEDGEN)

Intervenant : Dr. Joke Badejo, CApIC ACE, joke.badejo@covenantuniversity.edu.ng

Résumé : L’Afrique subsaharienne a été jusqu’à présent accablée par de multiples problèmes de santé, tels que le paludisme permanent et l’épidémie émergente de cancer du sein pour les femmes et de cancer de la prostate pour les hommes. Ces problèmes de santé ne sont pas correctement abordés en raison de la rareté des applications construites à partir des ensembles de données génomiques (et autres « omiques ») indigènes qui sous-tendent ces maladies. L’un des objectifs spécifiques de CApIC-ACE dans le cadre du projet ACE Impact est le développement de l’infrastructure informatique en nuage (c’est-à-dire le centre de données) de Federated Genomics (FEDGEN) afin de mettre la recherche et le développement basés sur la génomique à la portée de la population africaine. S’appuyant sur le partenariat unique entre CApIC-ACE et CEA-MITIC (avec leurs partenaires universitaires et industriels), ce projet de développement vise à concevoir, développer et déployer des applications mobiles et en nuage avec des services intégrés basés sur l’intelligence artificielle pour diffuser des informations sur la santé liées au paludisme, au cancer du sein et de la prostate sur la plateforme FEDGEN. Ces applications contiendront également un module de conservation, d’archivage et d’accès aux ensembles de données pour la recherche et l’éducation. Par conséquent, ce projet aboutira au déploiement et à la commercialisation des applications, ainsi qu’au renforcement des capacités par le biais de stages, de la supervision conjointe d’étudiants et de diplômes de troisième cycle.

Bio : Joke Badejo est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en technologie de l’Université de technologie Ladoke Akintola, au Nigeria, en 2003, d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat de l’Université Covenant, au Nigeria, respectivement en 2007 et 2015, tous en génie informatique. Elle est actuellement professeur adjoint au département de génie électrique et informatique de l’université Covenant, au Nigeria. Au cours de son doctorat, elle a reçu une bourse de l’International Association for Pattern Recognition et du MORPHO en 2012 pour une formation en biométrie et a également été étudiante invitée au Biomedical Signal Analysis Laboratory de l’université Clarkson, Potsdam, NY, États-Unis, en 2015. Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent la biométrie et l’analyse d’images biomédicales, l’apprentissage automatique, l’analyse de données et le génie logiciel. Elle dirige actuellement l’équipe d’analyse des données qui soutient la prise de décision axée sur les données à l’Université Covenant. Elle est membre de plusieurs organismes professionnels tels que le Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN) et l’Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Joke aime être une universitaire et aime apporter des solutions efficaces et rentables aux problèmes d’ingénierie sociétale en Afrique.

09.55 – 10.15
Titre :
Contributions génétiques et environnementales à la prévalence du paludisme au Sénégal et en Côte d’Ivoire.

Intervenant : Dr. Seydou Nourou Sylla, ACE MITIC, nourou03@gmail.com

Résumé : Ce projet participe à la mise en place de méthodes et d’outils d’analyse statistique des données environnementales, climatiques et génétiques et de leurs associations avec les données épidémiologiques et parasitologiques, tout en garantissant la validité et la fiabilité des résultats, dans un contexte de répétitions non indépendantes d’observations pour un même sujet. En effet, dans la population africaine, les liens de parenté sont assez forts et le suivi longitudinal réalisé depuis plusieurs années dans les zones d’étude a permis d’acquérir des observations répétées et corrélées dont il faut tenir compte. En plus de ces problèmes, ce projet prendra en compte la spécificité environnementale et climatique des pays africains dans le diagnostic des maladies infectieuses qui est un aspect important dans la recherche actuelle.

Bio : Le Dr Seydou Nourou Sylla est titulaire d’un doctorat en mathématiques appliquées, spécialisé dans l’apprentissage automatique et le big data, à l’Université Gaston Berger de Saint-Louis au Sénégal. Il est consultant externe au sein de l’Organisation ouest-africaine de la santé. Le Dr Sylla a été chercheur postdoctoral à l’Institut Pasteur de Dakar, au sein du groupe G4-BBM. Au sein de ce groupe, il a travaillé sur l’apprentissage automatique et le Big Data sur des données génétiques, épidémiologiques et environnementales. Le Dr Sylla a travaillé dans l’équipe du projet MISTIS (Modélisation et Inférence de Phénomènes Aléatoires Complexes et Structurés) à l’Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et Automates (INRIA) de Grenoble en France. Il a également été statisticien-modéliste à l’Unité de recherche sur les maladies infectieuses et tropicales émergentes (URMITE) de l’Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) de Dakar au Sénégal.

10.15 – 10.35
Titre :
Prédire les maladies cardiaques avec des classificateurs multiples

Intervenant : Mr Charly Gnoguem, ACE SMIA, charly.gnoguem@imsp-uac.or

Résumé : Les maladies cardiaques sont l’une des principales causes de morbidité et de mortalité dans le monde. Environ 18 millions de personnes meurent chaque année de maladies cardiaques. Étant donné que les données sont générées quotidiennement par plusieurs sources et sous différents formats, leur prédiction opportune, précise et rentable est impérative pour les réformes cliniques. L’apprentissage automatique est réputé pour son efficacité dans la prédiction des maladies cardiaques à partir de données médicales. Les corrélations complexes présentes dans les ensembles de données médicales augmentent la complexité de la prédiction des maladies cardiaques. Dans cet article, une nouvelle technique hybride est proposée pour améliorer la prédiction des maladies cardiaques. L’objectif de cette méthode est de réduire les faux négatifs pour améliorer les soins aux patients. La méthode proposée attribue des poids à quatre classificateurs, chacun construit avec l’un des quatre algorithmes réputés – arbre de décision, Random Forest, K-Nearest Neighbor et régression logistique. La classe finale d’une nouvelle instance est prédite par la somme maximale pondérée des prédictions des classificateurs. Cette méthode est comparée aux méthodes déjà existantes, et une amélioration de la précision (92,10%) et de la sensibilité (94,59%) ainsi qu’une réduction drastique des faux négatifs sont observées avec le jeu de données Cleveland.

Bio : Charly N. Gnoguem est un étudiant de dernière année à l’Université d’Abomey-Calavi et suit actuellement un doctorat en intelligence artificielle. En tant qu’étudiant en intelligence artificielle, il s’est entraîné à être très performant dans des domaines connexes tels que l’apprentissage automatique, l’apprentissage profond, l’analyse et la gestion des données volumineuses, la veille économique et les systèmes multi-agents. Il a étudié l’ingénierie informatique au niveau du premier cycle, après quoi il a travaillé avec plusieurs entreprises en tant que consultant en logiciels. En 2018, il a entrepris un MSc en systèmes d’information à l’institut de mathématiques et de physique (IMSP-UAC).

10.35 – 10.55
Titre : COVID-19 – Une pandémie GLOBALE nécessitant des solutions LOCALES

Intervenant : Dr. Yaw Bediako, ACE WACCBIP, ybediako@ug.edu.gh

Résumé : Depuis décembre 2019, le SRAS-CoV-2 a infecté plus de 8,2 millions de personnes et tué plus de 442 000 personnes dans plus de 160 pays du monde. Après un démarrage relativement lent, le nombre de cas au Ghana (et en fait dans une grande partie de l’Afrique) a commencé à augmenter rapidement avec 30 % du total des cas et des décès signalés jusqu’à présent. Les réalités socio-économiques ont rendu difficile l’application de politiques de confinement général (mise à l’abri). La propagation communautaire est en cours et va probablement se poursuivre. Malgré certains efforts du gouvernement, le grand public reste mal informé sur le COVID-19 et l’adhésion aux protocoles de santé publique est mitigée. Une grande partie de la population se méfie également du gouvernement, car elle perçoit un manque de transparence dans le traitement des données. Notre recherche vise à fournir une plateforme de données en temps réel, intuitive et accessible au public, qui donne un aperçu de la dynamique et des schémas de transmission de l’épidémie de SRASCOV-2 au Ghana, et qui peut être utilisée à la fois pour orienter la stratégie nationale de santé publique, mais aussi pour l’engagement et les réponses communautaires.

Bio : Le Dr Yaw Bediako est un immunologiste qui s’intéresse à l’étude de la fonction immunitaire des populations africaines afin de mieux aborder l’immunopathologie associée aux maladies infectieuses et non infectieuses de ces populations. Après avoir obtenu un doctorat à la Northwestern University de Chicago, le Dr Bediako a effectué des stages post-doctoraux dans le cadre du programme KEMRI-Wellcome Trust au Kenya et à l’Institut Francis Crick à Londres, qui visaient à comprendre les mécanismes immunologiques par lesquels l’immunité contre le paludisme est naturellement acquise et maintenue. En tant que chercheur au Centre ouest-africain de biologie cellulaire des pathogènes infectieux (WACCBIP) à Accra, au Ghana, le groupe de recherche du Dr Bediako travaille actuellement sur des projets qui incluent : L’exploration des mécanismes sous-jacents à l’acquisition de l’immunité naturellement acquise contre le paludisme ; L’identification des prédicteurs immunitaires de la progression du cancer du col de l’utérus associé au HPV dans le contexte de l’infection par le VIH ; L’étude des mécanismes de l’immunité cellulaire et humorale contre l’infection par le SRAS-CoV-2 parmi les populations africaines. Il est actuellement boursier du réseau africain Crick, membre du groupe consultatif eLife Early Career, membre affilié de l’Académie africaine des sciences et responsable de l’African Science Initiative, une plateforme de mise en réseau en ligne pour les jeunes scientifiques africains.

10.55 – 11.15
Titre : La plateforme opérationnelle régionale COVID-19 de l’OMS pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre (AOC)

Intervenant : Dr. Mamadou Diallo, ACE-partner, mamadou.diallo1@ird.fr

Résumé : La plateforme opérationnelle régionale COVID-19 de l’OMS pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre (AOC) soutient, coordonne et catalyse la réponse à l’épidémie. Parmi ses groupes de travail figure le groupe de recherche opérationnelle, coordonné par l’IRD et l’OMS. Il vise à améliorer la réponse à la pandémie de covid-19 dans la région AOC en intégrant la recherche opérationnelle par l’engagement des opérateurs de recherche, l’échange d’informations sur les recherches en cours et à venir, et le transfert de connaissances. Au cours de ma présentation, je parlerai du contexte de la création du groupe de recherche opérationnelle, de ses objectifs, de ses réalisations et de l’importance de sa collaboration avec les centres d’excellence africains.

Bio : Mamadou Diallo est le coordinateur scientifique du groupe de recherche opérationnelle de la plateforme COVID de l’OMS pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre. Il est membre du projet ACE-partner et affilié à l’Institut de Recherche et de Développement (IRD) à Dakar. Ses travaux ont porté sur l’immunologie et l’épidémiologie des maladies infectieuses, notamment le paludisme, le VIH, les infections sexuellement transmissibles et le covid-19. Entre autres projets réalisés, le Dr Diallo a contribué à la création de la plateforme COVID de l’OMS pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre https://www.ird.fr/covid-oms-aoc, à l’utilisation du traitement précoce du VIH comme méthode de prévention chez les travailleurs du sexe au Bénin, en Afrique de l’Ouest.

11.15 – 11.55
Discussions and Networking
All (40min)

11.55 – 12.00
Closing
DSTN Leader (5min)

18 décembre 2020, 9:00-12:00 UTC (3h)

EN LIGNE

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour nous permettre de vous offrir le meilleur service.