Centers

RES-EAU > Centres > ACE WACWISA

Contacts: 

University for Development Studies
Nyankpala Campus
P.O. Box TL 1882
+233-24-457-3657
wacwisa@uds.edu.gh

RES-EAU > Centres > ACE WACWISA

Presentation : 
WACWISA IS a semi-autonomous Centre of Excellence specialized in education and research in Water Resources, Irrigation Science and Engineering, Sustainable Agriculture and Climate Change. 
It has as a vision “to be a leading world-class academic and research Centre specialized in irrigation, water resources, sustainable agriculture and climate change” and, a Mission of “developing skills and knowledge of young men and women to provide practical and sustainable solutions to challenges of water resources, irrigation, agricultural development and climate change in Africa”.  

It undertakes training of high-level personnel at the Master and PhD level, career-based short courses as well as conduct cutting-edge research through post-doctoral training in its thematic areas. 

The Centre aims at bridging the training gap that exists for manpower in the area of water resources, irrigation, sustainable agriculture and climate change especially in the West African sub-region. The center builds on already existing relationships and experiences of industry, national, regional and international partners in developing programs that suit regional needs. Current programs include; Integrated Water Resources Management, Irrigation and Drainage Engineering, Soil and Water Conservation and Management, Environmental Management and Sustainability, and Sustainable Agricultural and Food Systems. 


WACWISA also undertakes applied and advanced research that contributes to new and emerging knowledge and technologies to create opportunities for especially resource poor as well as develop localized and sustainable solutions and technologies for the development and growth of society.

Academic and Research Interest:

  • Water Resource Management
  • Irrigation & Drainage Systems
  • Sustainable Agriculture
  • Climate Change
  • Food & Nutrition Security

Coordinators
Prof. Felix Kofi Abagale (fabagale@uds.edu.gh)

Focal Points
Prof. Felix Kofi Abagale (fabagale@uds.edu.gh)
Mr. Benard Alando (alanben@uds.edu.gh)

 

By continuing your navigation on this site, you accept the use of cookies to allow us to offer you the best service.

Centres

RES-EAU > Centres > ACE WACWISA

Contacts: 

University for Development Studies
Nyankpala Campus
P.O. Box TL 1882
+233-24-457-3657
wacwisa@uds.edu.gh

RES-EAU > Centres > ACE WACWISA

Présentation : 

WACWISA est un centre d’excellence semi-autonome spécialisé dans l’enseignement et la recherche dans les ressources en eau, la science et l’ingénierie de l’irrigation, l’agriculture durable et le changement climatique.
Il a pour vision « d’être un centre universitaire et de recherche de classe mondiale spécialisé dans l’irrigation, les ressources en eau, l’agriculture durable et le changement climatique » et, une mission de «développer les compétences et les connaissances des jeunes hommes et femmes pour fournir des services pratiques et durables, des solutions aux défis des ressources en eau, de l’irrigation, du développement agricole et du changement climatique en Afrique ».
Il entreprend la formation de personnel de haut niveau au niveau de la maîtrise et du doctorat, des cours de courte durée basés sur la carrière et mène des recherches de pointe à travers une formation postdoctorale dans ses domaines thématiques.
Le Centre vise à combler le déficit de formation qui existe pour la main-d’œuvre dans le domaine des ressources en eau, de l’irrigation, de l’agriculture durable et du changement climatique, en particulier dans la sous-région ouest-africaine. Le centre s’appuie sur les relations et les expériences déjà existantes de l’industrie, des partenaires nationaux, régionaux et internationaux dans l’élaboration de programmes adaptés aux besoins régionaux. Les programmes actuels comprennent ; Gestion intégrée des ressources en eau, génie de l’irrigation et du drainage, conservation et gestion des sols et de l’eau, gestion et durabilité de l’environnement et systèmes agricoles et alimentaires durables.
WACWISA entreprend également des recherches appliquées et avancées qui contribuent aux connaissances et technologies nouvelles et émergentes pour créer des opportunités pour les personnes particulièrement pauvres en ressources et développer des solutions et des technologies localisées et durables pour le développement et la croissance de la société.

Centres d’intérêt :
Gestion des ressources en eau
Systèmes d’irrigation et de drainage
Agriculture durable
Changement climatique
Sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle

Coordinateur
Prof. Felix Kofi Abagale (fabagale@uds.edu.gh)

Points Focaux
Prof. Felix Kofi Abagale (fabagale@uds.edu.gh)
Mr. Benard Alando (alanben@uds.edu.gh)

 

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour nous permettre de vous offrir le meilleur service.